London author Tony White interviewed me for The Quietus about my recent Influx Press book, Place Waste Dissent.

PlaceWasteDissent_demy

‘I loved Hawkins’ book. The lo-fi, analogue, cut and paste of word and image is richly redolent of that early ’90s squat and crusty culture. As I mention in the article, this was a scene that I also quickly turned around in my own fiction, writing a deliberately PWD_page124 loose and libidinised version of the M11 protests in what became my debut novel, the ‘avant-pulp’ Road Rage! which was published in 1997. Paul Hawkins has taken rather longer in reporting from Claremont Road, but in doing so he has perhaps been truer to hw-wounded-nat-4w the troubled textures of the time, and both more generous and more critical than I had cared to be with my own more immediate fictional responses.’

We cover a lot of ground, from the background to the book, old friends from Claremont Road, dissent, politics, poetry, local residents including film-makers John Smith (Blight, in collaboration with composer Jocelyn Pook) and Ian Bourn, (Housewatch) who produced on the No M11 Link Road protests and the impact the 6-lane A12 that was eventually built, right up to the present day.

Tony has an archived flyer for Ian’s Housewatch film performances on his website which I’ve duplicated here.

You can read the interview in full on The Quietus site here.

I have limited signed copies of Place Waste Dissent for sale, click here if you’d like to buy one.

Place Waste Dissent is also for sale on the Influx Press website at £9.99

