Arts agitator, writer and film-maker Joe Ambrose on Place Waste Dissent;

‘I first met Paul Hawkins a fair long time ago and one night over dinner in my Islington flat he told me all about his squatting adventures and life on the road in Spain. Back then he had it in mind to write the book – below – which has just come out commemorating the squatting on London’s Claremont Road, now just a memory because the place got knocked down to make way for a motorway.

I was having dinner with a few friends the other night when my copy of the book arrived in its jiffy bag and I showed it to them and they read it while we were dining. They thought it was wonderful and we talked about how books exist to immortalize what we think feel or do while we’re around. Be that the affairs of a community or an individual or a people or just a handful of folks.

All these years later Paul has gotten his book out – it’s a herculean task to get any book out – and it couldn’t be a better job. Now go out and buy it.’

 

 

